Clive Barker (Liverpool, 1952-)

A visionary, fantasist, poet and painter, Clive Barker has expanded the reaches of human imagination as a novelist, director, screenwriter and dramatist. An inveterate seeker who traverses between myriad styles with ease, Clive has left his indelible artistic mark on a range of projects that reflect his creative grasp of contemporary media -- from familiar literary terrain to the progressive vision of his Seraphim production company. The 1998 movie, Gods and Monsters, which he executive produced, garnered three Academy Award® nominations and an Oscar® for Best Adapted Screenplay. The following year, Clive joined the ranks of such illustrious authors as Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Annie Dillard and Aldous Huxley when his collection of literary works was inducted into the Perennial line at HarperCollins, which then published The Essential Clive Barker, a 700-page anthology with an introduction by Armistead Maupin.

Clive began his odyssey in the theatres of Liverpool and London, scripting original plays for his group The Dog Company, including The History of the Devil, Frankenstein in Love and Crazyface. Soon, Clive began publishing his The Books of Blood short fiction collections; but it was his debut novel, The Damnation Game that widened his already growing international audience. 

Clive shifted gears in 1986 when he directed Hellraiser, based on his novella The Hellbound Heart, which became a veritable cult classic on its release the following year, spawning a slew of sequels, several lines of comic books, and an array of merchandising. In 1990, he adapted and directed Nightbreed from his short story Cabal. Two years later, Clive executive produced the housing-project story Candyman, as well as its 1995 sequel, Candyman 2: Farewell to the Flesh. Also that year, he directed Scott Bakula and Famke Janssen in the noir-esque detective tale, Lord of Illusions.

Clive’s literary works include such best-selling fantasies as Weaveworld, Imajica, The Great and Secret Show, Everville, Sacrament, Galilee and Coldheart Canyon and the children’s fable, The Thief of Always. The first of his quintet of children’s books, Abarat, was published in 2002 to resounding critical acclaim, followed by Abarat II: Days of Magic, Nights of War and Abarat III: Absolute Midnight; Clive is currently completing the fourth in the series.

His latest book is The Scarlet Gospels which sees two of his most famous literary creations - Pinhead and Harry D'Amour - pitted against each other both on Earth and in Hell.

Clive has been an accomplished artist and photographer for as long as he has been a wordsmith.  His canvases have been shown in solo exhibitions in New York, Chicago and Los Angeles and his artwork is celebrated in the continuing series of Imaginer volumes.

In 2012 Clive was given a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Horror Writer's Association, for his outstanding contribution to the genre.


The Damnation Game (1985), Weaveworld (1987), The Great And Secret Show (1989), Imajica (1991), The Thief Of Always (1992), Everville (1994), Sacrament (1996), Galilee (1998), Coldheart Canyon (2001), Abarat (2002), Abarat: Days of Magic, Nights of War (2004), Mister B. Gone (2007), Abarat: Absolute Midnight (2011), The Scarlet Gospels (2015)

Short Stories / Novellas/ Collections

Books of Blood volumes 1-3 (1984), Books of Blood volumes 4-6 (1985), Lost Souls (1985), The Hellbound Heart (1986), Cabal: The Nightbreed (1988), Coming to Grief (1988), Whose Line is it Anyway? (1988), On Amen's Shore (1992), The Departed / Hermione and the Moon (1992), Pidgin And Theresa (1993), Animal Life (1994), A Story With No Title, A Street With No Name (1995), Chiliad: A Meditation (1997), Six Destinies / Tortured Souls (2001), The Wood On The Hill (2001), The Infernal Parade (2004), Jump Tribe (2005), Haeckel's Tale (2005), The Adventures of Mr. Maximillian Bacchus and His Travelling Circus (2009), They're Mad, They Are (2012), The Candle in the Cloud (2013), A Night's Work (2013), Dollie (2013), Afraid (2015), Tonight, Again (2015)


The Painter, The Creature and The Father of Lies (2011)


Illustrator volume 1 (1990), Illustrator volume 2 (1993), Visions of Heaven and Hell (2005), Imaginer volume 1 (2014), Imaginer volume 2 (2015), Imaginer volume 3 (2016), Imaginer volume 4 (2017), Imaginer volume 5 (2017), Imaginer volume 6 (2018)

Selected Exhibitions

Bess Cutler Gallery, New York (1993), Laguna Art Museum, CA (1995), La Luz de Jesus, Los Angeles (1997, 1998), Pacific Design Centre, Los Angeles (2002), MCA Chicago (2004), Bert Green Fine Art, Los Angeles (2005 - 2011), Packer Schopf, Chicago (2008), Sloan Fine Art, New York (2008), Otis, Los Angeles, (2008), Crown Gallery, Carlisle (2011), Century Guild, Los Angeles (2013, 2014), Alexander Salazar, San Diego (2014), Galleri Oxholm, Copenhagen (2015)


Nightbreed: The Action Game (1990), Nightbreed: The Interactive Movie (1990), Undying (2001), Jericho (2007)

Graphic Novels and Comics

Primal (1992), Night of the Living Dead (1993), Deady: The Waiting Room (2004), Field (2006), Seduth (2009), Next Testament (2013 - 2014) 

Tapping the Vein (1989 - 1992), Hellraiser series (1989 - 1994 and 2011 - 2015), Nightbreed series (1990 - 1993 and 2014 - 2015), Jihad (1991), Weaveworld (1991 - 1992), The Yattering and Jack (1991), Dread (1992), Son of Celluloid (1991), Revelations ([1992]), The Life of Death (1993), Rawhead Rex ([1993]), Razorline: The First Cut (1993), Ectokid (1993 - 1994), Saint Sinner (1993 - 1994), Hokum & Hex (1993 - 1994), Hyperkind (1993 - 1994),  Pinhead (1993 - 1994), The Harrowers (1993 - 1994), The Thief of Always (2005), The Great and Secret Show (2005 - 2006), Age of Desire (2009), The Book of Blood (2014)


Rare Flesh (2003)


The Essential Clive Barker (1999)


Voodoo (1967), Inferno (1967), Neongonebony (1968), The Holly And The Ivy (1970), Is There Anybody There? (1972), Hunters In The Snow (1973), Salome (c.1973), A Private Apocalypse (c.1973), The Scream Of The Ape (1974), The Fish Bride (1974), Poe (1974), The Egg (1974), Grunewald's Crucifixion (1974), A Dream (1974), The Wolfman (1974), A Clowns' Sodom (1976), Day Of The Dog (1977), The Sack (1978), The Magician (1978), Dog (1979), Nightlives (1979), The Comedy of Comedies (unstaged, 1980), The History Of The Devil (1980), Dangerous World (1981), Paradise Street (1981), Frankenstein In Love (1982), The Secret Life Of Cartoons (1982), Crazyface (1982), Subtle Bodies (1983), Colossus (1983)


Salome (1973), The Forbidden (1978), Hellraiser (1987), Nightbreed (1990), Lord Of Illusions (1995), Nightbreed - Director's Cut (2014)

Hellraiser II: Hellbound (1988), Hellraiser III: Hell On Earth (1992), Hellraiser IV: Bloodline (1996), Candyman (1992), Candyman 2: Farewell To The Flesh (1995)

Hellraiser franchise, Candyman franchise

Underworld (Transmutations) (1985), Rawhead Rex (1986), The Yattering and Jack (1986), The Body Politic (1997), The A-Z of Horror (1997), Saint Sinner (2002), Haeckel's Tale (2006), Valerie On The Stairs (2006), The Midnight Meat Train (2008), Book of Blood (2009), Dread (2009)

Motorhead - Hellraiser music video (1992)

Gods And Monsters (1998), The Plague (2006)



Revelations -